News Sports & Games

Tour de France Winners and Runners List [1903 – Present]

Tour de France Winners

All You Need To Know About Tour De France

The Tour De France is a yearly cycling competition that primarily takes place in France but also occasionally travels through neighboring nations. The Amaury Sport Organization currently manages what was once just marketing for the journal L’Auto to boost sales in 1903 but has since grown into the most prestigious cycling competition in the world. One of the most rigorous athletic tests in all of sports, the competition lasts for three weeks. The inaugural race was proposed by Henri Desgrange, a journalist for the L’Auto, and it is customarily conducted in the month of July. Unlike the mountainous 21-stage tournament it would later develop into, the 1903 competition was only conducted over six rather flat stages.

Most Prestigious & Most Difficult” Bicycle Race – Tour De France

The current competition has 21 stages, lasts for 23 days, and covers roughly 3,500 kilometers by cyclists. The average number of teams competing in the Tour is between 20 and 22, and each team consists of nine riders. The winner and recipient of the prestigious yellow jersey is the rider with the lowest overall time after all parts. Currently holding the title is Chris Froome. Miguel Indurain, Jacques Anquetil, Bernard Hinault, Eddy Merckx, and others have all won the Tour de France five times. Over two million euros are included in the prize pool for the Tour de France.

Tour De France – Format Of The Competition

198 cyclists compete in 22 teams of nine riders in this team sport. The race is broken down into 21 stages. There are 2 rest days, 2 individual time trials, 3 difficult stages, 7 mountain stages, and 9 flat stages. One stage is conducted each day, spanning a distance of over 225 kilometers and taking more than 5 hours to finish. The trek lasts 21 days, typically in the month of July, and travels 3,500 kilometers. The winner of the Tour de France is the cyclist who completes the most stages in the quickest amount of time while also winning each stage.

Stages Of Tour De France

The race is divided into 21 distinct sections, or “stages,” although it is not entirely on flat terrain. Riders on the Tour also ascend into the mountains.

The names of the various stages vary:

  • Mountains – These may climb from sea level to 2,000 meters multiple times per day and come in all shapes and sizes. Tough!
  • Time Trial – It’s a race against time. a tiny bit longer than a prologue. These shorter stages are about 30 kilometers long (as opposed to 100-125 miles). Riders sometimes ride alone, and other times they ride in teams.
  • Flat – Contrary to what the name suggests, it is not always totally flat. For about 125 miles, large packs of competitors ride in a large group known as a “peloton.” These either finish in a ‘breakaway’ victory by a single person or small group, or usually with a tense bunch sprint.
  • Prologue – In a brief time trial (often under six miles), each rider competes against the clock.

Tour De France – List Of Winners

Get to know more about who won the competition that led to this trophy being lifted.

YearTour WinnerCountryTeam
2022109Jonas VingegaardDenmarkTeam Jumbo–Visma
2021108Tadej PogačarSloveniaUAE Team Emirates
2020107Tadej PogačarSloveniaUAE Team Emirates
2019106Egan BernalColombiaTeam Ineos (previously known as Sky)
2018105Geraint ThomasUnited Kingdom (Wales)Team Sky
2017104Chris FroomeUnited KingdomTeam Sky
2016103Chris FroomeUnited KingdomTeam Sky
2015102Chris FroomeUnited KingdomTeam Sky
2014101Vincenzo NibaliItalyAstana Pro Team
2013100Chris FroomeUnited KingdomTeam Sky
201299Bradley WigginsUnited KingdomTeam Sky
201198Cadel EvansAustraliaBMC Racing Team
201097Andy Schleck *LuxembourgTeam Saxo Bank
200996Alberto ContadorSpainAstana
200895Carlos SastreSpainTeam CSC Saxo Bank
200794Alberto ContadorSpainDiscovery Channel
200693Óscar Pereiro *SpainCaisse d’Epargne
199885Marco PantaniItalyMercatone Uno
199784Jan UllrichGermanyTelekom
199683Bjarne Riis *DnmarkTelekom
199582Miguel InduráinSpainBanesto
199481Miguel InduráinSpainBanesto
199380Miguel InduráinSpainBanesto
199279Miguel InduráinSpainBanesto
199178Miguel InduráinSpainBanesto
199077Greg LeMondUnited StatesZ
198976Greg LeMondUnited StatesADR
198875Pedro DelgadoSpainReynolds
198774Stephen RocheIrelandCarrera
198673Greg LeMondUnited StatesLa Vie Claire
198572Bernard HinaultFranceLa Vie Claire
198471Laurent FignonFranceRenault
198370Laurent FignonFranceRenault
198269Bernard HinaultFranceRenault
198168Bernard HinaultFranceRenault
198067Joop ZoetemelkNetherlandsTI Raleigh
197966Bernard HinaultFranceRenault
197865Bernard HinaultFranceRenault
197764Bernard ThévenetFrancePeugeot
197663Lucien Van ImpeBelgiumGitane
197562Bernard ThévenetFrancePeugeot
197461Eddy MerckxBelgiumMolteni
197360Luis OcañaSpainBic
197259Eddy MerckxBelgiumMolteni
197158Eddy MerckxBelgiumMolteni
197057Eddy MerckxBelgiumFaemino
196956Eddy MerckxBelgiumFaema
196855Jan JanssenNetherlandsHolland
196754Roger PingeonFranceFrance
196653Lucien AimarFranceFord
196552Felice GimondiItalySalvarini
196451Jacques AnquetilFranceSt-Raphael
196350Jacques AnquetilFranceSt-Raphael
196249Jacques AnquetilFranceSt-Raphael
196148Jacques AnquetilFranceFrance
196047Gastone NenciniItalyItaly
195946Federico BahamontesSpainSpain
195845Charly GaulLuxembourgHolland-Luxembourg
195744Jacques AnquetilFranceFrance
195643Roger WalkowiakFranceNord-Est-Centre
195542Louison BobetFranceFrance
195441Louison BobetFranceFrance
195340Louison BobetFranceFrance
195239Fausto CoppiItalyItaly
195138Hugo KobletSwitzerlandSwitzerland
195037Ferdinand KublerSwitzerlandSwitzerland
194936Fausto CoppiItalyItaly
194835Gino BartaliItalyItaly
194734Jean RobicFranceOuest
1940-46not held   
193933Sylvère MaesBelgiumBelgium
193832Gino BartaliItalyItaly
193731Roger LapébieFranceFrance
193630Sylvère MaesBelgiumBelgium
193529Romain MaesBelgiumBelgium
193428Antonin MagneFranceFrance
193327Georges SpeicherFranceFrance
193226André LeducqFranceFrance
193125Antonin MagneFranceFrance
193024André LeducqFranceFrance
192923Maurice De WaeleBelgiumAlcyon
192822Nicolas FrantzLuxembourgAlcyon
192721Nicolas FrantzLuxembourgAlcyon
192620Lucien BuysseBelgiumAutomoto
192519Ottavio BottecchiaItalyAutomoto
192418Ottavio BottecchiaItalyAutomoto
192317Henri PélissierFranceAutomoto
192216Firmin LambotBelgiumCycles Peugeot
192115Léon ScieurBelgiumLa Sportive
192014Philippe ThysBelgiumLa Sportive
191913Firmin LambotBelgiumLa Sportive
1915-18not held   
191412Philippe ThysBelgiumCycles Peugeot
191311Philippe ThysBelgiumCycles Peugeot
191210Odile DefrayeBelgiumAlycon
19119Gustave GarrigouFranceAlycon
19108Octave LapizeFranceAlycon
19097François FaberLuxembourgAlycon
19086Lucien Petit-BretonFranceCycles Peugeot
19075Lucien Petit-BretonFranceCycles Peugeot
19064René PottierFranceCycles Peugeot
19053Louis TrousselierFranceCycles Peugeot
19042Henri Cornet *FranceCycles JC
19031Maurice GarinFranceLa Française

I am enthusiastic blogger & SEO expert. I am digitally savvy and love to learn new things about the world of digital technology. I loves challenges come in my way. I also prefer to share useful information such as SEO, Google Algorithm Update, SMM, PPC, WordPress, Web Hosting, Affiliate Marketing etc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *