News Sports & Games

UEFA Champions League Winners and Runners List [1955 – Present]

UEFA Champions League

All You Need To Know About UEFA Champions League

One of all sports’ most prominent competitions is the UEFA Champions League. Here is all the information you need to know about the world’s greatest club soccer competition, which has been held annually since 1955. Top clubs from across Europe compete in the UEFA Champions League, UEFA’s premier club competition, with the chance to be named European champions. In the first season of the competition, which was then known as the European Cup, 16 teams participated. In 1992/93, it underwent a name change to become the Champions League, and it has since grown, with 79 clubs participating in the 2019/20 season. Three rounds of qualifying are held in the summer, followed by a play-off, before 32 teams begin the group stage in September.

UEFA Champions League – Rules

Each club plays every other team in that group both at home and away during the group stage, which consists of eight groups of four teams. While the third-place team is relegated to the UEFA Europa League, the top two teams in each group go to the round of 16 and the start of the knockout phase. The final is held at a stadium that is chosen almost two years in advance, while the round of 16, quarterfinals, and semifinals are contested over two legs, at home and away.

Team Selection Of UEFA Champions League

Based on the UEFA coefficients of the member associations, the number of teams each association enters into the UEFA Champions League is determined. These results are based on each association’s clubs’ performances during the previous five UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League seasons. The more teams that represent an association in the Champions League and the fewer qualification rounds their teams must play in, the higher the association’s coefficient. Since the 2009–10 campaign, the UEFA Champions League has provided two “streams” of qualifying for teams who do not qualify directly for the competition. Those who qualified for one of the two streams did so by winning their domestic league, and teams that qualified by finishing second through fourth in their local league.

UEFA Champions League – Group Stage

The group stage is a double round-robin competition between the 32 teams. In the round of 16, the opening round of the knockout phase, the group winners and runners-up proceed. The teams are ranked by points. Three points are awarded for a win, one point is awarded for a tie and no points are awarded for a loss.

List Of All Champions Of UEFA League All Time

Find out the list of the winners of have lift this trophy.

2021-22Real MadridLiverpool1-0
2020-21ChelseaManchester City1–0
2019-20Bayern MunichParis Saint-Germain1-0
2018-19LiverpoolTottenham Hotspur2-0
2017-18Real MadridLiverpool3-1
2016-17Real MadridJuventus4-1
2015-16Real MadridAtlético Madrid1-1 (5–3)
2013-14Real MadridAtlético Madrid4-1
2012-13Bayern MunichBorussia Dortmund2-1
2011-12ChelseaBayern Munich1-1 (4–3)
2010-11BarcelonaManchester United3-1
2009-10InternazionaleBayern Munich2-0
2008-09BarcelonaManchester United2-0
2007-08Manchester UnitedChelsea1-1 (6–5)
2001-02Real MadridBayer Leverkusen2-1
2000-01Bayern MunichValencia1-1
1999-2000Real MadridValencia3-0
1998-99Manchester UnitedBayern Munich2-1
1997-98Real MadridJuventus1-0
1996-97Borussia DortmundJuventus3-1
1990-91Red Star BelgradeMarseille0-0*
1988-89MilanSteaua Bucureşti4-0
1986-87PortoBayern Munich2-1
1985-86Steaua BucureştiBarcelona0-0
1981-82Aston VillaBayern Munich1-0
1980-81LiverpoolReal Madrid1-0
1979-80Nottingham ForestHamburg1-0
1978-79Nottingham ForestMalmö FF1-0
1977-78LiverpoolClub Brugge1-0
1976-77LiverpoolBorussia Mönchengladbach3-1
1975-76Bayern MunichSaint-Etienne1-0
1974-75Bayern MunichLeeds United2-0
1973-74Bayern MunichAtlético Madrid1-1
1973-74 ReplayBayern MunichAtlético Madrid4-0
1967-68Manchester UnitedBenfica4-1
1965-66Real MadridPartizan2-1
1963-64InternazionaleReal Madrid3-1
1961-62BenficaReal Madrid5-3
1959-60Real MadridEintracht Frankfurt7-3
1958-59Real MadridStade de Reims2-0
1957-58Real MadridMilan3-2
1956-57Real MadridFiorentina2-0
1955-56Real MadridStade de Reims4-3

I am enthusiastic blogger & SEO expert. I am digitally savvy and love to learn new things about the world of digital technology. I loves challenges come in my way. I also prefer to share useful information such as SEO, Google Algorithm Update, SMM, PPC, WordPress, Web Hosting, Affiliate Marketing etc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *