Gelatin capsules, also known as soft gels, have an outer coating or shell containing the active ingredient and any filler. So, the interior ingredients must be in the form of a liquid, paste or suspension, which has small particles of the active ingredient suspended in the liquid. The shell of the gelatin capsule is made of gelatin, usually derived from beef or pork, along with water and a plasticizing agent such as glycerin to provide durability with flexibility. Gelatin capsules have advantages for both the drug and capsule manufacturer and the consumer.
The best part about gelatin capsules are they can easily digested and dissolve within minutes of reaching the stomach, according to physician Ray Sahelian, who has a website devoted to natural supplements. This basically ensures that the medicine or supplement won’t pass through the digestive system without being absorbed.
So, using soft gel capsules can increase the bioavailability of poorly absorbed or poorly soluble nutrients, according to the Natural Products Insider website. The main quality of gelatin capsule is that it can easily go through with stabilizing, solubilizing or other techniques; manufacturers can easily enhance the effectiveness of nutrients such as coenzyme Q10, carotenoids and certain herbal extracts.
Basically, unlike any other type of capsules, soft gelatin capsules are hermetically sealed and airtight, as noted by the Natural Products Insider website. This always makes them tamper-evident, because any puncture on the surface would cause obvious damage.
Consuming the Capsule
Because they already have a smooth texture, soft gelatin capsules are easier to swallow for some people than tablets, caplets and other capsules. They also hide the unpleasant taste and odours of substances such as fish oil, which can be disagreeable to take by the teaspoon.
Gelatin is mainly harmless and safe to consume, according to Sahelian. It is usually derived from pork or beef and provides a tiny amount of protein and amino acids.
Ingredients in Soft Gel Capsules
So, if you take supplements such as Vitamin E or fish oil, you’ve probably encountered soft gel capsules. Usually oblong and translucent, these capsules have an appealing look and a smooth finish that makes them easier to swallow.
As per leading manufacturers of capsules, most soft gel capsules are made from gelatin. Gelatin is mainly a substance that is derived from collagen, which in turn is extracted from animal skin and bones. Gelatin is a widely used food additive. So, gelatin is not vegetarian, and may be unacceptable to those following strict kosher or halal diets.
Pullulan or Hypromellose
Pullulan and hypromellose are mainly two non-animal-derived sources that are used as gelatin alternatives. Pullulan is a water-soluble polysaccharide; pullulan has received wide regulatory acceptance and has been in use for over 25 years.
Color may also be added to softgels, increasing their effectiveness and possibly their attractiveness. So, according to Natural Products Insider, opaque capsules protect their contents from light and UV radiation.
So, choosing the right Capsule Manufacturer can you lead towards a good health?