Sports & Games

ICC ODI Cricket World Cup Men’s Winners and Runners List [1975 – Present]

ICC Cricket World Cup

History – ICC Cricket World Cup

In one-day international cricket, the Cricket World Cup is the highest-level and most significant competition. It was first played in 1975. The West Indies won this competition, dubbed The Prudential World Cup, which was held in England. Since then, the competition has been held every four years in a variety of nations. The various contests have featured eight to sixteen teams, and the match lengths have varied from 60 overs per side in the early tournaments to 50 overs per side in more recent ones.

ICC Cricket World Cup – Present

It is one of the most renowned and significant events that occurs every four years and is also the site of the World Cup’s finest game. Every cricketer aims to hold his country’s name proudly and respectfully, therefore the event consists of four stages, and the team invested all of their effort, hard work, and energy into it to win the championship of the tournament. The qualification phase of the present structure determines which teams advance to the tournament phase, and it occurs over the previous three years. Ten teams, including the host nation, which automatically qualifies, compete for the championship over around a month at locations in the host country.

ICC Cricket World Cup – Types

At the international level, ICC Cricket World Cup is played in Test matches, One-Day Internationals, and Twenty20 Internationals. The International Cricket Council, which also provides match officials, has established the rules and regulations under which these matches are played. Here both men and women have their separate teams that battle against different cricketing nations.

Cricket World Cup Winners List (ODI)

1975EnglandWest Indies291–8Australia274West Indies won by 17 runs
1979EnglandWest Indies286–9England194West Indies won by 92 runs
1983EnglandIndia183West Indies140India won by 43 runs
1987India and PakistanAustralia253–5England246–8Australia won by 7 runs
1992Australia and New ZealandPakistan249–6England227Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996Pakistan and IndiaSri Lanka245–3Australia241Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999EnglandAustralia133–2Pakistan132Australia won by 8 wickets
2003South AfricaAustralia359–2India234Australia won by 125 runs
2007West IndiesAustralia281–4Sri Lanka215–8Australia won by 53 runs
2011India and BangladeshIndia277–4Sri Lanka274–6India won by 6 wickets
2015Australia and New ZealandAustralia186–3New Zealand183Australia won by 7 wickets
2019England and WalesEngland241New Zealand241–8The match tied after regular play and a super over; England won on a boundary count
India240Australia won by 6 wickets (with 42 balls remaining)

I am enthusiastic blogger & SEO expert. I am digitally savvy and love to learn new things about the world of digital technology. I loves challenges come in my way. I also prefer to share useful information such as SEO, Google Algorithm Update, SMM, PPC, WordPress, Web Hosting, Affiliate Marketing etc.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *