June 19, 2024
FIFA World Cup Winners List

FIFA World Cup Winners and Runners List [1930 – Present]

Football World Cup – History

Soccer is played all over the world and generates its own fervor when the World Cup, an international competition, is held every four years. No other contest in the planet inspires as much fervor or is as inclusive as the qualification for this event. Since its inauguration in 1930, the FIFA World Cup has hosted international association football competitions every four years. FIFA, also known as the Federation Internationale de Football Association in French, is the organization in charge of overseeing all aspects of the World Cup.

Football World Cup – Popularity

The Football World Cup is not only the most renowned association football competition ever, but it’s also the most watched and followed sporting event ever. An estimated 715.1 million viewers, or a tenth of the world’s population, watched the World Cup final, bringing the total number of viewers for the tournament to an estimated 26.29 billion. Football is played in practically every nation in the world, which is no secret. This offers more top-tier athletes than any other sport, in large numbers. The distribution of skill is unrestricted because it is a sport that is practiced in numerous nations.

FIFA World Cup Schedule 2022 PDF Download


Winners and Runners List – FIFA World Cup Men’s

Let us find out who were all the winners of FIFA World Cup since it began. The list of all those who were lucky to lift the trophy is here.

YearWinnerRunner upFinal ScoreHost NationNumber of Teams
2022ArgentinaFrance3-3 (4-2) - penalty shootoutQatar32
2010SpainNetherlands1-0South Africa32
2006ItalyFrance1-1 (5-3) - Penalty ShootoutGermany32
2002BrazilGermany2-0South Korea/Japan32
1994BrazilItaly0-0 (3-2) - Penalty ShootoutUSA24
1990West GermanyArgentina1-0Italy24
1986ArgentinaWest Germany3-2Mexico24
1982ItalyWest Germany3-1Spain24
1974West GermanyNetherlands2-1West Germany16
1966EnglandWest Germany4-2England16
1954West GermanyHungary3-2Switzerland16
1946Not HeldNot HeldNot HeldNot HeldNot Held
1942Not HeldNot HeldNot HeldNot HeldNot Held

Most Wins in FIFA World Cup Men’s (Team-Wise)

Brazil51958, 1962 1970, 1994, 2002
Germany41954, 1974, 1990, 2014
Italy41934, 1938, 1982, 2006
Argentina31978, 1986, 2022
France21998, 2018
Uruguay21930, 1950

Sonu Singh

I am enthusiastic blogger & SEO expert. I am digitally savvy and love to learn new things about the world of digital technology. I loves challenges come in my way. I also prefer to share useful information such as SEO, Google Algorithm Update, SMM, PPC, WordPress, Web Hosting, Affiliate Marketing etc.

View all posts by Sonu Singh →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *