June 25, 2024
Rugby World Cup Winners

Rugby World Cup Winners and Runners List [1987 – Present]

Rugby World Cup – What Exactly It Is?

The most prestigious international rugby union competition in the world is the Rugby World Cup. The men’s national rugby union teams compete in the tournament, which is put on by the International Rugby Board (IRB), the sport’s regulatory body. The first edition of the tournament, which was jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand in 1987, is now played every four years. The Webb Ellis Cup, which honors the Rugby School student who is credited with creating the game, is given to the champions. One of the biggest international sporting events in the world is the tournament. England now holds the title of world champion after winning the competition that took place in Australia in 2003. In September and October of 2007, France will host the next Rugby World Cup.

Rugby World Cup – About the Trophy?

The trophy awarded to Rugby World Cup champions is called the Webb Ellis Cup after William Webb Ellis, who is credited with inventing the sport of rugby football. The Rugby World Cup is another name for the trophy. In 1987, the trophy was selected as the proper cup to utilize in the competition. On the cup’s face are the phrases “International Rugby Board” and “The Webb Ellis Cup.” Its 38-centimeter height is supported by two cast scroll handles, one of which has the head of a satyr and the other of which has the head of a nymph. It is made of silver that has been gilded in gold. In Australia, the trophy is referred to as “Bill” in slang, honoring William Webb Ellis.

Rugby World Cup – Qualification

The eight quarterfinalists from the previous tournament advance to the following one, meaning that eight of the 20 slots are filled automatically under the present structure. Continental qualifying competitions fill the remaining 12 spots. Three teams from the Americas, one from Asia, one from Africa, three from Europe, and two from Oceania all compete for positions.

Rugby World Cup – Upcoming

Due to the Covid-19 epidemic, the women’s competition, which was originally scheduled to begin on Saturday, September 18, and last until Saturday, October 16, 2021, was postponed to 2022. Now, it runs from October 8 through November 12, 2022. The tournament’s hosts and defending champions, New Zealand, are going for their sixth championship, although two-time champions England are coming off of a record-breaking 25-match winning streak and are ranked as the top team in the world. The two-time champions England, who have dominated rugby in the northern hemisphere, are set to be their most challenging rivals. The following men’s competition will take place in France in September and October of 2023.

Rugby World Cup Winners List by Year

Find out the list of the winners of have lift this trophy.

102023South AfricaNew Zealand12-11
92019South AfricaEngland32−12
82015New ZealandAustralia34-17
72011New ZealandFrance8-7
62007South AfricaEngland15-6
31995South AfricaNew Zealand15-12
11987New ZealandFrance29-9

Sonu Singh

I am enthusiastic blogger & SEO expert. I am digitally savvy and love to learn new things about the world of digital technology. I loves challenges come in my way. I also prefer to share useful information such as SEO, Google Algorithm Update, SMM, PPC, WordPress, Web Hosting, Affiliate Marketing etc.

View all posts by Sonu Singh →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *