June 17, 2024
PSL (Pakistan Super League) Winners and Runners List

PSL (Pakistan Super League) Winners and Runners List [2016 – Present]

Pakistan Super League – Everything You Should Know

The PSL’s beginning was officially declared by the Pakistan Cricket Board in September 2015. Wasim Akram and Rameez Raja, two former Pakistani national team captains, agreed to promote the PSL and serve as the league’s brand ambassadors for three years. After several years of preparation and two prior attempts that were unsuccessful, the league finally started on February 4, 2016, in the United Arab Emirates, with Nahyan bin Mubarak Al Nahyan and Bakhtawar Bhutto-Zardari, the daughter of the former president of Pakistan, Asif Zardari. Five teams, each representing the provincial and federal capitals of Pakistan, competed during the first two seasons. The PSL had a higher proportion of foreign players in its inaugural season.

Pakistan Super League Cricket T20 – Format

There are two rounds of round robin play in the PSL. The top four teams advance to the playoffs after each club plays the other twice. Despite having implemented the DRS system in T20s, which the International Cricket Council later copied, the league adheres to the rules and regulations set forth by that organization. In the group stage, a victory is worth two points, a tie is worth one, and a loss is for none. After both teams have played their allotted number of overs and there is a tie in the scores, the match winner is decided by a super over. A super over is used to decide the winner of any play-off game in case there is no clear winner.

Pakistan Super League – Teams

Before the league’s inaugural season, some 20 parties reportedly expressed interest in purchasing franchises, according to a PCB press release. The Pakistan Cricket Board started taking franchise bids on October 18th, with a deadline of November 15th. On December 3, 2015, all five of the league’s franchises were sold for a combined sum of US$93 million after seven buyers submitted formal bids.

Pakistan Super League T20 – Results

The PSL’s inaugural season was played exclusively in the United Arab Emirates for security concerns. Islamabad United won the inaugural title by defeating Quetta Gladiators in the championship game. Peshawar Zalmi won the PSL title in 2017, defeating Quetta Gladiators on March 5 in Lahore. On March 25, 2018, Islamabad United defeated Peshawar Zalmi to win the PSL title for the year. On March 17, 2019, in Karachi, Quetta Gladiators defeated Peshawar Zalmi to win their maiden championship; Karachi Kings carried the trophy home in 2020. On June 24, 2021, at Abu Dhabi, Multan Sultans defeated Peshawar Zalmi to win their maiden championship. On February 27, 2022, Lahore Qalandars defeated Multan Sultan, the defending champions, to win their maiden championship.

Pakistan Super League Winners List of All Seasons

The Pakistan Super League has the following winners:-

EditionYearWinnerWon ByRunner-UpHost
82023Lahore Qalandars1 RunMultan SultansPAK
72022Lahore Qalandars42 RunsMultan SultanPAK
62021Multan Sultans47 RunsPeshawar ZalmiUAE
52020Karachi Kings5 WicketsLahore QalandarsPAK
42019Quetta Gladiators8 WicketsPeshawar ZalmiPAK
32018Islamabad United3 WicketsPeshawar ZalmiPAK
22017Peshawar Zalmi58 RunsQuetta GladiatorsPAK
12016Islamabad United6 WicketsQuetta GladiatorsUAE

Most Wins Teams in PSL

Islamabad United22016, 2018
Lahore Qalandars22022, 2023
Peshawar Zalmi12017
Quetta Gladiators12019
Karachi Kings12020
Multan Sultans12021

Sonu Singh

I am enthusiastic blogger & SEO expert. I am digitally savvy and love to learn new things about the world of digital technology. I loves challenges come in my way. I also prefer to share useful information such as SEO, Google Algorithm Update, SMM, PPC, WordPress, Web Hosting, Affiliate Marketing etc.

View all posts by Sonu Singh →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *