Lanka Premier League (LPL) Winners and Runners List [2020 – Present]

lanka premier league trophy

Lanka Premier League – All You Need To Know

The highest domestic T20 event in Sri Lanka, the Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2022, which will feature a number of top international talents, is slated to take place from December 6 to December 23. The Lanka Premier Competition, popularly known as LPL, is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in Sri Lanka that will begin play in 2020. Teams from Sri Lankan cities will compete in it annually. Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) established the league in 2018. Ravin Wickramaratne, the vice president of SLC, was formally chosen to lead the competition in August 2020. The inaugural season was initially scheduled to run from 18 August to 10 September 2018, however it was repeatedly rescheduled owing to administrative problems at SLC.

Format Of Lanka Premier League T20 Cricket

Five teams will compete in the competition for the coveted title in Sri Lanka: Colombo Stars, Dambulla Giants, Galle Gladiators, Jaffna Kings, and Kandy Falcons. The top four teams at the end of the league advance to the playoffs after facing off against each other twice in round robin fashion. There will be a total of 24 games: 20 league games and 4 playoff games, including the championship game. The Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium (MRICS) in Hambantota and the R. Premadasa Stadium (RPICS) in Colombo were to host games during the LPL 2022.

Teams In Lanka Premier League

The registration of the international players for the player draught will soon begin, according to SLC. This year’s edition will feature a total of 24 matches. The tournament’s full schedule has not yet been released, although Colombo will serve as the initial host city until Hambantota is used. The most successful team in the league is Jaffna Kings (Jaffna Stallions in 2020), who have won the first two competitions by defeating Galle Gladiators in the championship match. Kandy Warriors, Dambulla Giants, Colombo Stars, Galle Gladiators, and Jaffna Kings are the five teams that make up the LPL 2022.

Lanka Premier League T20 – Schedule

The LPL 2022 was initially planned to run from August 1 to August 21, however just weeks before the opening game, the tournament was indefinitely postponed due to the nation’s economic difficulties. The league stage of the six-team tournament will now begin on December 6 and end on December 23, according to the updated schedule. The LPL 2022 schedule has not yet been made public.

Lanka Premiere League Winners List of All Seasons

Looking for the winners of Lanka Premier League of all seasons? Find out here.

EditionYearWinnerWon ByRunners-UpHost
4th2023B – Love Kandy5 WicketsDambulla AuraSri Lanka
3rd2022Jaffna Kings2 WicketsColombo StarsSri Lanka
2nd2021Jaffna Kings23 runsGalle GladiatorsSri Lanka
1st2020Jaffna Stallions53 runsGalle GladiatorsSri Lanka

Most Titles Wins in LPL

LPL TeamLPL TrophyLPL Winner
Jaffna Kings3 Times2020/21, 2021/22, 2022/23
B – Love Kandy1 Time2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Need Help?