Big Bash League Winners and Runners List [2011 – Present]

Big Bash League

What You Need To Know About BBL?

Cricket Australia founded the Big Bash League in 2011, an Australian Twenty20 cricket professional franchise league. The KFC Twenty20 Big Bash was replaced by the Big Bash League, which has eight city-based franchises as opposed to the six state teams that had previously competed. Since the competition’s beginning, KFC, a fast food chicken restaurant, has sponsored it. Along with the Indian Premier League, it is one of only two T20 cricket leagues that rank among the top ten domestic sport leagues in terms of average attendance.

What Makes Big Bash League Popular?

Australia’s premier domestic Twenty20 cricket league is called the Big Bash League. The Big Bash was established in 2011 with eight teams based in six cities, riding the wave of the Indian Premier League’s success. Brisbane, Hobart, Adelaide, Perth, and Sydney each had one team, whereas Sydney and Melbourne each get two teams. One of the world’s most well-known cricket leagues is the Big Bash League. Only the IPL currently outperforms it in terms of popularity and viewership. International players from all over the world are one of the key factors in the popularity of the BBL.

Big Bash League Australia – Prize Money

Initially set at $1 million, the pay cap was raised to $1.05 million for the third season. The salary cap was raised in February 2015 to $1.3 million for the fifth season and to $1.6 million for the sixth. After the Champions League Twenty20 event was terminated with effect from 2015, Cricket Australia boosted the prize money for the BBL to a total of $890,000 for the four finals. This increase took effect for the 2015–16 season. The prize money will be distributed to the teams in the following ways.

  • $450,000 – To the Champion of the season
  • $260,000 – To the Runner up
  • $80,000 – To each losing semi-finalist
  • $20,000 – To the team finishing fifth in the season

Big Bash League 2022 – Upcoming

Season 12 of the Big Bash League (BBL, Big Bash, or BBLT20), a Twenty20 cricket league run by Cricket Australia, will take place from December 2022 to January 2023. (CA). The Big Bash League season 2022–23, often known as BBL12, was the league’s twelfth and final season. It featured 61 professional men’s Twenty20 domestic cricket matches.

Big Bash League Winners

Till this year, these all have lift the trophy of Big Bash League. The list is here –

EditionYearWinnerWon ByRunner Up
12th2022-23Perth Scorchers5 wicketsBrisbane Heat
11th2021-22Perth Scorchers79 runsSydney Sixers
10th2020-21Sydney Sixers27 runsPerth Scorchers
9th2019-20Sydney Sixers19 runsMelbourne Stars
8th2018-19Melbourne Renegades13 runsMelbourne Stars
7th2017-18Adelaide Strikers25 runsHobart Hurricanes
6th2016-17Perth Scorchers9 wicketsSydney Sixers
5th2015-16Sydney Thunder3 wicketsMelbourne Stars
4th2014-15Perth Scorchers4 wicketsSydney Sixers
3rd2013-14Perth Scorchers39 runsHobart Hurricanes
2nd2012-13Brisbane Heat34 runsPerth Scorchers
1st2011-12Sydney Sixers7 wicketsPerth Scorchers

Most Wins in Big Bash League

BBL TeamBBL TrophyBBL Winner Year
Perth Scorchers52013-14, 2014-15, 2016-17, 2021-22, 2022-23
Sydney Sixers32011-12, 2019-20, 2020-21
Brisbane Heat12012-13
Sydney Thunder12015-16
Adelaide Strikers12017-18
Melbourne Renegades12018-19

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Need Help?